Take A Look At DUI Penalties In The State Of California

Take A Look At DUI Penalties In The State Of California

 

DUIs are on the increase in California and the rest of the country. So it's essential to understand the laws surrounding drunk driving. The penalties associated with a DUI in California are severe. But remember that successful defense strategies can help reduce or eliminate many of these consequences. Learn why it is crucial to hire a criminal defense lawyer who specializes in defending clients charged with DUI offenses.

What are DUI Offenses?

An "operating under the influence" offense occurs when a driver operating a car has a blood alcohol concentration over the legal limit or is under the influence of a controlled substance or other drug or a combination of alcohol and drugs. DUI cases in Ventura County include misdemeanor and felony crimes prosecuted by the Ventura County District Attorney's Office and the Ventura City Attorney's Office.

What are the Penalties for Driving Under the Influence in Ventura County?

For DUI cases in Ventura County, the penalties vary depending on whether the charge is a misdemeanor or a felony. Also, the courts will assess whether the defendant has a prior conviction for DUI within the last ten years.

 

For first-time offenders, the minimum penalties for a misdemeanor DUI conviction may include a fine of between $390 to $1000 inclusive of penalty assessments. However, depending on the circumstances of your case, you might also get the following penalties: 

  • Six-month license suspension

  • 90 days jail

  • Victim Impact Panel participation

  • Random Drug Testing after release

  • Alcohol Education Class attendance

  • Mandatory Community Service Program Participation

  • Vehicle Impoundment

  • Probation for up to three years; and 

  • The first offender treatment program at a minimum of five days.

The Ignition Interlock

People whose licenses were suspended due to DUI cases in Ventura County are not allowed to drive a vehicle until the driver gets an ignition interlock device installed in their motor vehicle. This special device is attached to the vehicle's ignition system and prevents the car from starting if the driver has traces of alcohol on their breath. To start the car, you have to blow into a breathalyzer, which confirms the alcoholic content in your breath. Additionally, the driver must present regular samples as they operate the vehicle. 

How a DUI Lawyer Can Help With Your Case

There are many DUI cases in Ventura County. Most people end up on the wrong side of the law and are forced to deal with severe penalties. While it is wrong to drive under the influence, you still have an opportunity to defend yourself in court with the help of an experienced attorney. An experienced lawyer understands the law and has the necessary resources to gather evidence in your favor. They can also help you negotiate a favorable plea bargain to avoid the harsh penalties of a DUI case.

Conclusion

If you are charged with driving under the influence in California, you must hire a reputable law firm to help you fight your charges. Legal issues can be overwhelming if you do not have the expertise to handle them properly. If you are looking for a legal firm in Ventura to help you with your DUI case, contact a reputable DUI attorney for a consultation today!