The top 6 Indian cricketers in history

Cricket is more than just a game in India, it is an eleven-on-eleven battle. There are many athletes on the Indian national cricket team. Some people have good talent. But, there aren't many of them who have super exceptional talent and can do everything by themselves. Cricketers like Zaheer Khan, Anil Kumble, and Harbhajan Singh are deserving of inclusion on this list for the ICC bowling ranking.

From 1932 to 2022, India produced a ton of great cricketers. But, who are the top ten cricketers in India in terms of performance? These are the ICC ranking cricketers who've excelled in their respective eras and made themselves stand out as some of the world's most adored players.

Sachin Tendulkar

He holds every cricket player's dream collection of records. The "Master of Cricket" is how people refer to him. He started his career at age 16, becoming India's youngest player to play in a Test match.

In addition to being the first batsman to earn a double century in an  ODI or One Day International. Tendulkar was also the only player to reach over 30k runs in international cricket. He is the sole player to have scored 100 international centuries. He was ranked the second-greatest Test batter, second to Don Bradman. Sachin was also the second-greatest ODI batsman after Viv Richards, by Wisden Cricketers' Almanack in 2002.

In his cricketing career, he has received numerous honours. These include the Padma Shri, the Arjuna Award, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, and the Padma Vibhushan. In addition, he is the first sportsperson to earn the Bharat Ratna Award and he is also the youngest recipient to date.

Kapil Dev

He was a former cricketer for India. He served as captain of the 1983  ICC Cricket World Cup-winning Indian cricket team. Kapil Dev, one of India's greatest all-rounders ever, was titled  Indian Cricketer of the Century by Wisden in 2002. In addition, from October 1999 to August 2000, he served as India's national cricket team mentor for ten months.

He was referred to as "The Haryana Hurricane" and played for the Haryana state cricket team. He held the global record for Test cricket wickets taken.

Sunil Gavaskar

Former cricketer Sunil Manohar (born July 10, 1949) represented India as well as the Bombay cricket team in the 1970s and 1980s. Gavaskar set records for the most Test runs and Test centuries scored by a batsman. He is regarded as one of cricket's all-time great opening batsmen.

Before Sachin Tendulkar broke it in December 2005, he maintained the record for the most Test batting centuries with 34 for almost 20 years.

With an especially high run rate of 65.45 against the West Indies. Sunil was regarded as having the most brutal pace bowling attack in Test history with four facets. Gavaskar's strategy against fast bowling received universal acclaim.

Rahul Dravid

Among the greatest batsmen in cricket history, Rahul Dravid is a veteran Indian cricketer and captain. Dravid, aka The Wall, received the Player of the Year award in 2004. He also received the Test Player of the Year award at the 2004 inaugural ICC awards ceremony.

 In 2000, Wisden Cricketers' Almanack named him one of the top five cricketers of the year. He delivered the Bradman Oration in Australia for the first time as a non-Australian cricketer in December 2011.

 Dravid is currently the 4th highest run scorer in Test cricket as of October 2012. He is also only the 2nd Indian cricketer, after Tendulkar, to reach 10,000 runs in both Tests and ODIs. Dravid became the first and only player to date to score a century in each of the ten Test-playing nations in 2004, against Bangladesh in Chittagong.

He currently holds the mark for taking close to 210 catches by a player (other than a wicketkeeper) in the Test series. On November 1, 2012, in Sydney, Australia, the 7th annual Bradman Awards ceremony honoured Glenn McGrath and Rahul Dravid. Dravid has also received the prestigious Padma Bhushan award, the third-highest civilian honour in India.

Sourav Ganguly

In the 1970s and 1980s, Sunil Manohar (born July 10, 1949) played cricket for India and the Bombay cricket team. Ganguly was born on July 8, 1972. He currently works for Wisden India as the President of the Editorial Board and a cricket commentator. Ganguly is regarded as one of India's most successful captains of the modern era.

He began his career by participating in state and varsity sports. He currently ranks fifth among all-time ODI run scorers and was the third person. Ganguly was only behind Sachin Tendulkar to reach the landmark of 10,000 runs.

Sourav was ranked sixth among all-time ODI batsmen in the Wisden Cricketers' Almanack of 2002, behind only Sachin Tendulkar, Viv Richards, Dean Jones, Brian Lara, and Michael Bevan.

MS Dhoni

Mahendra Singh Dhoni was born on July 7, 1981, and serves as the team's captain at the moment. He is a wicketkeeper and an aggressive right-handed middle-order batsman. He is regarded as one of the best finishers in limited-overs cricket. Dhoni played his 1st Test match against Sri Lanka in 2005 after making his ODI debut against Bangladesh in December 2004.

In all three variations of the game, Dhoni serves as the team's captain. He currently has the best Test & ODI records of any Indian captain. In 2007, he succeeded Rahul Dravid as the team's ODI captain. He also guided them to their first bilateral ODI series victories in New Zealand and Sri Lanka.

The Indian team won the 2007 T20I, the 2007–08 CB Series, the Asia Cup in 2010, the 2011–12 ICC Cricket World Cup, and the 2013–14 ICC Champions Trophy while he served as captain. Dhoni led India to victory in the 2011 World Cup final with a score of 91 of 79 balls. He earned the title of Man of the Match.

Dhoni also guided India to the top spot in the ICC Test series rankings for the very first time in 2009. Under his leadership, India beat Australia handily in a Test series in 2013, making them the first team to do so in over 40 years.

Dhoni became the first Indian captain to win all three ICC trophies in June 2013, when the Indian Team defeated England in the Champions Trophy final in England. In addition, he led Chennai Super Kings to triumph at the Champions League T20 tournament in 2010 as well as the Indian Premier League's 2010 and 2011 seasons.


The players on this list have all displayed exceptional play, making them all well deserving of inclusion on the ICC batting figures.